Picture
Bad titles

Biking in Montreal is not easy, but if you're willing to risk it, the experience is a lot of fun. In 2007, the city of Montreal completed constructed on a bike path  that runs from Atwater to Berri along the De Maisonneuve boulevard (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/De_Maisonneuve_Boulevard). It is not perfect, but the route allows me to safely get from my apartment (point A) to the university (point B) without  having to feel stifled on the metro. Montreal was a biking city, and it continues in that same tradition; the bike path will continue to grow (read more here: http://www.cbc.ca/canada/montreal/story/2009/04/15/mtl-bikepath0415.html#ixzz12BBYdtS4). Despite the wonderful high I get from my daily endorphin intake, the wind in my face, and the acceleration I feel all the way down to my tippy toes, I as a Montreal biker must face the three horrors that roam the streets: taxicabs, pedestrians, and non-"enlightened" bikers.

Taxicabs
This is an umbrella term I use for cars that do not signal. Why? Because in Montreal there is a high number of cab drivers who do not signal ergo if you do not signal, you have acquired cab driver status. It is primordial that people signal to each whether they be biking or driving; accidents, especially fatal ones, can be avoided. It is very cliche, but communication is key.

Pedestrians
I have yet to see a responsible cab driver. In the case of pedestrians, I have seen very good ones and bad ones. A month ago, my friend was riding his BIXI and a pedestrian ran into him. Instead of asking if my friend was hurt, the older gentleman berrated him on the fact that it was HE who ran into him. Luckily for my friend, there were witnesses who defended his position . Let's face it, bad drivers, bad pedestrians, and bad bikers. What I am trying to accomplish here is to increase knowledge about Montreal biking. Pedestrians, you are more than welcome to jaywalk, and cut corners. Montreal is renowned for this. But please do it with a dose of common sense. If you cannot make it across the street, then don't try it. A lot of the times, I run into people because they are not looking where they are going or they are on a cell phone. If we take the time to look at where our body is, and to be aware of its limitations, and its existence in the universe, then we will be better off.

Non-"enlightened" bikers
I have another name for them, but because this is a school assignment, I had ot come up with a politically correct form of it. Let's get my thoughts off my chest first: Just because you have a credit card giving you access to the BIXI stations does not mean you have a license to drive it. the bike path is not a race path, and sorry, no, you shouldn't be biking in heels from Atwater to Frontenac. If it's from Atwater to Place-des-Arts, I will accept it, but it is at your own risk. And stop trying to race me. My 21-speed Olympia beauty outruns your 3-speed.

People love the new bike path despite complaints. Tune in next time when I talk about the importance of hand signals!





Laura
10/12/2010 08:21:54 am

Awesome Blog, I don't bike but when i'm in the car i fear for the life of some bikers. Something that really bothers me is when bikers bike along St-Catherine and Sherbrooke street, because if they were to go one street up or one street down, they would be much safer in the bike path...they built it for that reason right?

Reply
Illian
10/12/2010 08:40:23 am

I have to agree with Laura...as a biker I look for the nearest cement barrier between me and the traffic. And I'm not even wearing heels.

Reply
Christine
10/12/2010 09:15:48 am

I like this entry quite a bit. As someone who drives everywhere I have actually come to fear for anyone who bikes on Montreal streets. I know that it's only a matter of time before I see someone get run over.

I also like hearing that you use the bike path, nothing drives me more crazy than people who choose to bike on the road when there is a perfectly good bike path one street away (and in some cases on the other side of the street), or those bikers who think that because they are on a bike path means that they don't have to obey traffic laws and in particular red lights.

Reply
10/19/2010 08:25:16 am

Great article. I hate cyclists too. HIGH FIVE.

Reply



Leave a Reply.